HJAR Mar/Apr 2020

30 MAR / APR 2020  I  HEALTHCARE JOURNAL OF ARKANSAS   Healthcare Briefs As a project-based course, participants must enroll with at least one other team member but may enroll their entire team of collaborators, including students. The course features an expert interdisciplinary team from academia and indus- try. Project teams are divided into educational tracks and assigned a teaching team member to maximize their mentorship opportunities. More than 70 project teams have graduated from fastPACE and used their experience to secure additional funding, find collaborators, sub- mit publications and conduct additional research. “During our first two fastPACE courses, partici- pants learned how to develop a successful busi- ness case to secure funding and attract collabora- tors,” said Nancy Gray, PhD, BioVentures director. “They also were able to determine the commer- cial viability of their innovation and use the course to expand their network of innovation partners. We’re looking forward to building on that suc- cess again in 2020.” For more information, email Nancy Gray at nmgray@uams.edu or submit an application at https://bioventures.uams.edu/fastpace/. Arkansas Hospice &Arkansas Hospice Foundation Elect 2020 Boards Arkansas Hospice, the state’s largest provider of hospice services, and the Arkansas Hospice Foundation elected new officers and members for their 2020 Boards of Directors. Arkansas Hospice Board officers include Sharon Davis, chair; Sharon Heflin, chair-elect; Barbara Sugg, vice chair; Scotty Shively, secretary; Robert Schulte, treasurer; and Beth Ingram, chair emeri- tus. Board members include Dr. James Adamson, Donna Baas, Michael Brown, Brooke Bumpers, Sheila Campbell, Kelly Carney, Odessa Darrough, Dr. Jane Evans, Rhonda Finnie, Patricia Stanley Luppen, Mike Miller, William Phelps, William Smith, and Doug Wasson. Arkansas Hospice Foundation Board officers include William Smith, chair; Kimberly Pruitt, chair-elect; Bruce Holsted, vice chair; Teresa Burl, secretary; Susan Hiller, treasurer; and Sharon Aureli, chair emeritus. Board members include Kay Kelley Arnold; Ro Arrington; Sharon Davis; Dale Dues; Karen Flake; Dr. Mary Ann Rollans; Dr. Lewis Shepherd, Jr.; Dr. Diane Skinner; Dr. Robert Skinner; Lynda Sorrells; and Kacey Ziegler. Honor- ary Board members are Gail Arnold and Walker Sloan. Stephen Hudson, MD, Orthopedic Surgeon Joins The Orthopedic Center at Northwest Stephen Hudson, MD, board-certified orthope- dic surgeon, recently joined The Orthopedic Cen- ter at Northwest. He joined Dr. J. Marcus Heim and Steven Johnson, DMSc, PA-C, in practice at 601 W Maple Ave, Suite 411, in Springdale. Originally from Louisiana, Hudson’s first intro- duction to Northwest Arkansas was in college when he played football for the Razorbacks as a tight end. After completing an undergraduate degree at the University of Arkansas, he received a medical degree from Louisiana State Univer- sity in New Orleans, La. He then completed an orthopedic surgery residency at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences in Little Rock, Ark., where he was in private practice for the past 20 years before relocating to Northwest Arkansas. Hudson specializes in hip and knee replace- ment, including robotic-assisted partial and total knee replacement and direct anterior approach hip replacement. He also performs arthroscopic surgery of the shoulder and knee, and provides fracture care as well. Stephen Potts Appointed Director of Quality Operations for Community Quality Alliance Stephen Potts has been appointed director of quality operations for the Community Qual- ity Alliance, a clinically integrated network (CIN) affiliated with Northwest Health. Potts previously served as chief operating offi- cer for Visiting Angels of NWA. “Stephen is a multifaceted leader with wide- ranging experiences that are already providing value to our organization and those we serve,” said Executive Director Bruce Shepard. “Our patients and providers will benefit from his cre- ativity and strategic thinking as well as his busi- ness and health experience.” Potts’ education includes a Bachelor of Science in Nursing from University of Arkansas and a Mas- ter of Business Administration from University of Phoenix. In addition to being a registered nurse, he is also a licensed respiratory therapist. Northwest Health founded the Community Quality Alliance, one of the state’s first clinically integrated networks (CIN), in 2016. In 2018, the organization launched a Medicare Shared Savings Program Accountable Care Organization (ACO), Community Health Alliance of the Ozarks. Paul H. Phillips, MD, Named Chair of Ophthalmology, Director of Jones Eye Institute at UAMS Paul H. Phillips, MD, has been appointed chair of the Department of Ophthalmology in the Col- lege of Medicine and director of the Harvey & Bernice Jones Eye Institute at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS). “Dr. Phillips brings exceptional strengths to his new post as a highly respected leader in pediat- ric ophthalmology, strabismus, and neuro-oph- thalmology, and as a member of our faculty for the past 22 years,” said Christopher T. Westfall, MD, executive vice chancellor of UAMS and dean Stephen Hudson, MD Stephen Potts